Typewriter cake

I have a lovely friend who has always identified with the character of Daisy in Spaced (played by Jessica Stevenson)  I’ve been trying to find a clip of a particular episode online, but I can’t. It’s a series 2 episode where it’s Daisy’s birthday and she is brought a cake in the shape of a typewriter and then everything dissolves into a cake fight. Anyway, I decided to finally try making my friend a typewriter cake for her birthday!

I used the basic sponge recipe, doubling quantities. So:

Ingredients:

Wet

100ml light oil- sunflower, vegetable, canola

200ml soya milk (other non dairy milks do work but the texture is stronger and springier with soy)

1.5 teaspoons apple cider or white wine vinegar

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Dry

275g self raising flour

175g caster sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

pinch of salt

 

Whisk wet ingredients together, combine dry ingredients and mix together.

I used a 20cm x 20cm cake tin lined with greaseproof paper, put all the batter in here and baked in the preheated oven at 180’C for 20 minutes.

Here is the cake straight out of the oven:

I let it cool slightly and then turned out of the tin and peeled off the greaseproof paper.

I cut a 3-4cm strip off one side of the cake and placed it on top at the edge:

As it was the only kind of vegan icing sugar at my corner shop, I used tate&lyle fondant icing with a drop of black food colouring, some trex vegetable fat (to keep it soft) and water, whisked together to a fairly thick but spreadable paste. I didn’t make enough for a layer as thickas I wanted but managed to cover the whole cake in grey icing.

I had wanted to use chocolate buttons for the keys but couldn’t find any, so used one of my favourite vegan chocolate bars (I had 2 easter eggs of this stuff) by Kinnerton. Unfortunately the bar didn’t break up exactly along the lines, but I decided wonky keys would be ok!

I used white icing through a small nozzle to write on the keys.

A Kinnerton dairy free chocolate lolly in the side made a lever and some thicker icing rolled out (justmade from my fondant icing with more sugar/less water) made the paper.

It managed a trip on the tube, a little taxi journey and was well received the other end 🙂

One thought on “Typewriter cake

Leave a Reply

