Scrambled tofu on toast

Well it’s been a tiring stressful week. I’ve been doing the work of 2 people in the office and everyone is so demanding!!! Compounded by the fact that the weather has been freeeeezing with slippery pavements and snow, I come home hungry and can’t be bothered to cook properly. For this reason I have been having one of my absolute favourite lazy meals; scrambled tofu on toast. Now, since I’ve been making for the past 5 years with varying quantities of everything, I never had a proper recipe but worked out my standard one this week and here it is:

Ingredients to serve one
1 tsp vegetable oil
1/4 pack cauldron firm tofu
4 tbsp soya milk
1 tsp maize meal (cornflour or plain flour will do)
1 tsp powdered turmeric
pinch salt
1 tsp soy sauce
pinch smoked paprika (optional)

Heat the oil in a pan or wok and crumble in the tofu. Mash it around in the pan so it’s quite ‘scrambled’
Add in all the other ingredients and combine in the pan, mixing around to stop it sticking for 3-8 minutes until it’s all a light yellow and looks a bit like scrambled egg.
Serve immediately. I have it on vegemite toast. Yum.

IMAG0048

On one of our early dates, I made my now-fiancé some scrambled tofu at his student flat, claiming he ‘wouldn’t be able to tell’ that it wasn’t egg. I’m pretty sure he could. I also often add sweetcorn or peas from the freezer to pad it out a bit which goes really well!!!!

I had scrambled tofu with mushrooms on toast for breakfast today, and thought I’d also share my lunch; a salad of green lentils, raw carrot, lettuce leaves and roasted cauliflower with a mustard dressing.

IMAG0049

One of my new year’s resolutions is to blog more and get better at this photo lark, so expect to hear more from me!!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

