The 5:2 diet and ratatouille with raw cauliflower rice

The alternate day fasting or “5:2” diet is very popular right now. The basic idea is that you eat normally for 5 days a week and then ‘fast’ for 2 days. That is, have 20% of normal daily allowance of Calories for the day- so this is around 500 for ladies and 600 for men. There are loads of supposed health benefits, as well as fast weightloss! I’ve been trying this for the last few weeks to try and get thinner for my impending wedding (81 days to go! Eek!)

A normal fast day for me will be nothing but water and green tea until 1pm- some of the studies suggest that an actual fasting period of 16 hours is beneficial. I will have a serving of soup for lunch- the Calories will range from 95 (for Morrissons Spiced Butternut Squash soup) to about 140 for Marks and Spencer Tomato and Basil. I sometimes also have 1/2 bag of mixed salad leaves for an extra 7 Calories or so!

During the afternoon, I will continue having herbal tea and water and I also have some Clearspring brown rice miso, for which a teaspoon makes a mug of miso soup for under 20 Calories.

For dinner I will eat as much as I can for my Calories! It’s often about 30g (dried) quinoa, boiled in salted water with some vegetables- like mushrooms and cauliflower, and soy sauce and tabasco. I’ll have a treat like a square of chocolate or a slice of toast if I’ve managed to save the Calories! It’s theoretically easy to stick to 500 Calories but can feel quite hard at times. But the beauty is that you can eat whatever you want the next day!

Today was a fast day, so I’m sharing my recipe for ratatouille with raw cauliflower rice.

IMAG0007

Ingredients

a few florets of Cauliflower (about 1/2 cup) – 13 Calories

5-6 mushrooms, sliced – 10 Calories

1/2 courgette, chopped – 9 Calories

1/2 tin chopped tomatoes – 41 Calories

3 sprays of spray oil – 3 Calories

pinch Salt

Pepper

Few drops tabasco

(I’m not a big fan of garlic and onion but feel free to add these too)

Total Calories – 76

 

Put the raw cauliflower in a food processor and pulse a few times until it has the consistency of rice. Put this on the plate ready for serving.

Fry the courgette and mushrooms in a wok with spray oil for 5-10 minutes until softened. Add the tomatoes, tabasco, salt and pepper and cook for a few minutes.

Serve on the Cauliflower rice.

I added a little bit of grated vegusto on the top- for an extra 37 Calories 😉

It was lovely and quite filling!!!

 

Leave a Reply

