Home-made pan-fried potato gnocchi

Now I did mean to post this a week ago when gcse results came out. It’s been ten years since I got my gcse results! One thing I, and my parents, remember from that time is my food technology coursework. I can’t remember exactly what the theme was, I think I managed to choose something vague like “vegetarian dinners” and my dish that I made over and over again (improving each time!) was potato gnocchi with a roasted tomato sauce. I’ve tweaked my recipe a little bit over the years but I am a huge fan of gnocchi.

Ingredients

4 medium sized baking potatoes

1 tablespoon vegan margarine

1 tablespoon chopped fresh chives

150g “00” (or just plain) flour

Salt and pepper

Little bit of coarse semolina

Bake the potatoes in the oven at 150’C for an hour and a half until cooked through.

Scoop out the flesh (or peel after dropping into cold water), allow to cool slightly and mash really well with the margarine , chives, salt and pepper.

DSCF1778

Add half the flour and stir in until incorporated. Add the rest of the flour and get your hands involved, bringing together into a dough.

Roll the dough into long sausages and then chop into small dumplings using a wet knife.

DSCF1782

Use a fork to leave an indent in each one and roll in semolina.

DSCF1784

Chill or freeze until ready to cook.

DSCF1787

To serve:

Bring a large pan of salted water to the boil. Drop in the gnocchi. After a few minutes, the dumplings should rise to the surface. Retrieve from the water, drain and then fry in hot oil and serve with your favourite pasta sauce.

Leave a Reply

